Klutzy Much?

What should have been an absolutely lovely day quickly turned into a busy mom’s nightmare bummer moment.

Just picture it. It was the Saturday before Mother’s Day. The sun was shining, the birds were singing, the guys were away at practice. I had the house all to myself. I chose this beautiful day to clean up after the dogs. I swept, mopped, and bleached the floor of their favorite escape from the cold and rain.

Great progress was being made and I was thinking of all the things I would accomplish before sunset at my current rate of checking-offedness (I know, not a word, just go with it-k?). That’s when it happened. I stepped on a board. As it tilted from its half-lodged position in the threshold I heard a cr-ack. Crack? Seriously? After a test step, I determined I had dodged a potentially debilitating bullet. Woo-hoo! Wow, that could have really been bad.

I happily finished my task without too much discomfort and decided I should go inside to do some paperwork and give my foot a rest. After three hours my foot was throbbing so ferociously I couldn’t bear to hold it near the floor, much less put any weight on it. Grr.

I crawled down the stairs and grumbled all sorts of grumbly things to myself (don’t worry, all PG rated), “Why on earth was I so careless? How was I going to fix dinner for my starving family when they came in (very late and very starvy I might add)? How dumb is it to crawl around the house on my hands and knees. I was going to have carpet-burned knees at church tomorrow!” Followed by, “I should try hopping. Hopping would be much more dignified…” uh, never mind. THROBBING!

With my foot propped up on a stack of pillows, I resigned myself to spending the evening on the loveseat.  I began to consider the possibilities: 1.) Broken foot or 2.) Can you spell hypochondriac?

As it turns out, neither. I sprained the middle of my foot. Who does that? Yep, you guessed it–the resident klutz.

I’m so glad God doesn’t expect perfection. Grace is obviously not my superpower, but HIS grace is sufficient. {happy sigh}

About Cox Crew

Ever-inspired, always looking for time to make/do the next cool (or not-so-cool, according to my kids) thing. View all posts by Cox Crew

2 responses to “Klutzy Much?

You must be logged in to post a comment.

